Day 350: Cause to Celebrate

Wow. 350 days so far. Only 15 more to go after today. I can hardly believe it. I think that in and of itself is cause to celebrate, but I have so many more reasons to celebrate that are even bigger. My son, who is away at Marine Corps Boot Camp called yesterday to say that he had completed the Crucible and had received his Eagle, Globe and Anchor. (I can’t even type that without tearing up.) He will officially be graduating from Parris Island this Friday and will be home for Christmas.

For those who don’t know, it has been an extra long time coming in his case. He left on July 15 for what was supposed to be 13 weeks of boot camp. With just 3 weeks left in his training, he suffered a stress fracture in his femur and underwent surgery to put 3 pins into the bone. After 10 weeks of rehabilitation, he was ready to rejoin his training (luckily for him, he was able to pick up right where he had left off) and as of Saturday, he earned the title of U.S. Marine. I couldn’t be more proud of him and all that he has accomplished so far. This is just the first step, but as we all know, the first step can be the most important one.

Sorry for babbling on, and thanks for indulging me. On to today’s project. I knew that I wanted to see what Mojo Monday had posted and that I was likely to use it for my project today. I was right.

Here is my interpretation of today’s sketch (#324):

Frolicking Penguins Card

Now that I am comfortable with penguins being inspired by the sea since that is where they live, it has opened up some opportunities for me. I just love these guys and how they are celebrating with their little one and they all are clearly so happy. As soon as I saw the sketch with the longer rectangular space, I just knew that I was going to use this stamp. But, I didn’t stop at just stamping. I added bling to the puffs on their hats and used glitter glue to color the Christmas lights. I also found a string I had of small plastic toy Christmas lights and used those where the banners were on the original sketch.

Another project that I had been working on that I finished up the other day that isn’t nautical is my angel wreath. I am sharing it here as a way of thanking the angels who prayed for my son and watched over him these last 23 weeks.

Angel Wreath

And here is a close up of the angel that hangs in the middle of the wreath.

IMG_2005

I am looking forward to this Christmas since I know that I am getting the present that was at the top of my list…having all of  my boys with me. Now that they are growing up, I can’t expect that to happen every year, so I am going to really savor it this year. I hope that all of your dreams come true this holiday season as well.

One Response

  1. Love your penguin card! Congrats on your son’s completion of boot camp, and the fact that he will be with you this holiday season!

Leave a Reply

