Day 343: A Sweet Winter Card

Another card sketch blog that I used to follow closely is called The Sweetest Thing. I believe she posts a new sketch every 2 weeks with posts about My Favorite Things in between. For today, I decided to use her sketch as my starting point.

Winter Seals Card

I think the wintry weather influenced my choices this morning as well. IRL the reds that I used really do match better than it appears in the picutre. I used a plain piece of the dark red paper that I embossed with snowflakes for the main part of my background and accented it with a red printed paper with a snowflake print. Of course, when most people think of snow, they don’t think of inspired by the sea, but harp seals do live in the North Atlantic and Arctic oceans, so I figured they count. I kept the coloring really simple, since the seals are white as pumps and darken to grey as they get older. I used grey chalk to give them a touch of color. Since my background was actually off white, I used a bit of white chalk on the snowy ground and light blue chalk in the sky. For the 3 small embellishments below the image, I punched snowflakes and added just a bit of glitter glue to them to give them a touch of sparkle.

 

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

