Day 336: Giving Her Voice

Wow. Can’t believe I am in the last month of this year-long journey. I honestly didn’t know if I would make it this far. Now, I have no choice but to see it through to the end.

Over the weekend, I went up to Westminster with Laura for the kick-off of the Festival of Wreaths at the Carroll Arts Center. If you are local, I really would encourage you to go. Some of the wreaths are just incredible and they auction all of the wreaths off as a fundraiser for the center. In addition to the Festival, they are also hosting their annual Gallery of Gifts where you can find some unique gifts made by local artisans. That is where I found the piece that served as a starting point for today’s project.

Burned copper mermaid bookmark

This gorgeous burned copper mermaid was just one of the fabulous items available in the Gallery of Gifts. I just had to buy her. But, I wasn’t quite sure what to do with her. Since it was a mermaid, my thoughts turned to The Little Mermaid and how the evil queen took Ariel’s voice. Books give voice to their characters, so I thought that it might be nice to make a bookmark using this mermaid…to give her voice. She really didn’t need much in the way of embellishment, since she really is beautiful enough to stand alone. Of course, I didn’t seem to have any copper chain in my stash, so I used some copper jump rings to make my own short length of chain. I attached one end to the mermaid and on the other end, I added a copper filigree bead set that I did have in my stash.

 

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

