Day 335: Fair Winds

A couple of weeks ago, I just happened to see a response that a friend of mine posted to the question: If you were to name your home, what would you name it?

She explained that despite the fact that there was not a sign posted with the home’s name, it definitely had one. The name of her home, Fair Winds. She went on to explain that the name was derived from the quote, “Fair winds and following seas.” There were other reasons that the name held special meaning for her and her family as well.

So, ever since I read her story, that quote has been bouncing around in my brain. Today, I decided to let it escape and I made this:

Fair Winds

I started out with just the words, but felt that it needed something more. I felt that the lighthouse and the ship’s wheel, both were fitting embellishments, because both are tied in with guiding you along your way, and, from what I have read, fair winds and following seas has come to be a customary farewell message when someone is embarking on a new chapter in their life.

It isn’t a sign that she can post outside her home to announce to guests where they are, but I think that maybe she can find a place in her home for this.

2 Responses

  1. Nice tribute to your friend.

  2. And this friend is beyond honored! How thoughtfully delightful!

Leave a Reply

