Day 332: Sea Salted Caramel Pretzel Bark

A couple of weeks ago, someone posted a link on Facebook to a recipe for Salted Caramel Pretzel Bark. It seemed easy enough and sounded absolutely delicious. So, for today’s project I broke out my sea salt along with the rest of the ingredients and set to work:

Salted Caramel Pretzel Bark Ingredients

I have never made any sort of caramel from scratch or any sort of bark treat, so this was really new to me. I know that the sea inspiration is tenuous, but without the sea salt, I can definitely say this treat wouldn’t be quite as good.

I started out by arranging a layer of pretzels on a pan lined with parchment paper. Then, I melted the butter and added the brown sugar to create the caramel. (Who knew that it was so easy to make caramel?) We popped it into the oven for about 5 minutes before covering the top with the chocolate chips. After a few more seconds in the oven, the chocolate chips were soft enough that we could spread them around and cover the whole thing with their yumminess. Now, for the most important part, I sprinkled sea salt over the whole thing and put it all into the refrigerator to set up.

Salted Caramel Pretzel Bark

My husband and I just broke it into smaller pieces, and had to sample a couple of pieces. Yes, it tastes amazing and the sea salt really does add to the flavor.

If it lasts long enough, we will be bringing this to Thanksgiving dinner, since we are responsible for bringing the desserts each year. We do have a couple of pies also, so if we eat all of this before we head out, it won’t be the end of the world. 😉

One Response

  1. […] went searching Pinterest for ideas for quick and easy snacky type stuff, and found this recipe for salted caramel bark.  (I also found a new blog to follow in the process!)  It was crazy […]

Leave a Reply

