Day 325: Ocean Scene on Canvas

So, after a late night last night and a sleeping pill, I was in no shape to craft much of anything this morning. So, as soon as I got home from work, I headed up to my craft room. Now, while I was driving home, an idea was forming in my brain. Luckily, when I got home, I was able to make it come together.

Seahorse on Water Color Canvas

I knew that I had a few 6×6 stretched canvases. I decided that I wanted to try using water colors on the canvas and then layering paper embellishments to create an ocean scene. I started out using a couple of shades of blue paint and a pretty good amount of water to cover the entire canvas. I wanted variations in the tones, and I wanted to keep the colors pretty light.

Once I was happy with the canvas, I set it aside to dry and started cutting seaweed and coral using my Cricut. The key piece of course was the seahorse, since I just think they are the coolest creatures in the world. As I got my pieces cut I arranged them on a blue piece of paper, rearranging elements until I liked how everything looked.  I clicked a quick picture of the arrangement with my camera phone and then I started running the smaller elements through my Xyron to convert them to stickers. I put everything onto the canvas and created this little scene.

I am actually quite happy with how it all turned out. It really is almost exactly what I was envisioning in my mind as I drove home.

I also wanted to share with everyone that it is once again time for the Festival of Wreaths at the Carroll Arts Center in Westminster, MD. For those of you who don’t remember, or just didn’t know, one my first nautical crafts before I started on my 365 Days, was a wreath for last year’s festival. Well, this year’s wreath is not nautical, but I still thought that I would share it with you here.

Feel the Love Wreath

I call it, “Feel the Love.” You might remember that I used this wreath technique for a beach-themed wreath several months ago. While it was labor intensive, I just love how they turn out. Maybe next year, I will create a wreath a month instead of focusing on creating something each and every day.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

