Day 324: Mixed Up Media

I guess with the weather turning colder, my thoughts drifted away from tropical beaches and more to wintry landscapes. Hmmm. How to combine the two? Be creating a silly mixed media snowman out of sea shells.

MIxed Media Snowman

I started out with a small canvas that I painted light blue. If some areas of the canvas showed through that was okay because they looked kind of like clouds. Then I used some puffy fabric paint at the bottom to create snowy drifts. I selected 3 different sea shells in graduated sizes to create the snowman’s body. Some googly eyes and a piece of orange paper gave my snowman his face. His scarf was made using ribbon from my stash and his arms are pieces of twine.

This truly is a mixed media piece, or you could say that it is mixed up media because seashells and snow don’t generally go together and when you throw in all of the other elements, it is a bit crazy. It certainly isn’t what I would consider a masterpiece, but it is what it is and I think it is fun.

2 Responses

  1. This is so cute! Love it!

  2. I love this idea. – good job

Leave a Reply

