Day 309: Surf’s Up, Dude

Yesterday morning, I thought I would have time to play around with some ideas since I didn’t plan to do my project until last night. We all know what they say about best laid plans. I did get a chance to look back through some project tutorials that I had printed out from Split Coast Stampers to find some inspiration. Luckily, I also managed to do a little experimenting yesterday and learned some important lessons along the way, so that when I set out to make today’s card, I knew what to avoid.

Surfer Dude Card and Envelope

The card style is called a “spring card” because when you take it out of the envelope the center portion springs up. I had done a variation on this technique before, but I hadn’t done one following this tutorial before. Now the lessons that I learned had everything to do with how to cut the paper to get the design on it to flow in the right direction. I had prints going sideways and upside down before I finally figured it out.

Since I had this surfboard paper in my stash I decided to embellish the card (and the matching envelope) using my Surfafella stamp from Stampingbella. I have had the stamp in my collection for quite some time, so it was fun to get to use a new technique with an older supply. I colored him with colored pencils and then used chalk pencils and a Q-tip to color the background. Okay, that is one of my favorite techniques that I have been using since I started making cards. I then double matted my stamped image and adhered it to the front of my spring card. Now, other than including a sentiment on the image area, I don’t really see how you would include any sort of message on one of these cards, so I don’t really know how practical the technique is. But, it was fun to experiment with.

4 Responses

  1. It’s really cute! I think you could mount that on the front of a folded card IF you wanted space to write.

    • That is a good idea. Thanks!

  2. I love it and I like the tutorial. You have learned so many things through this process that I appreciate learning.

    • I really like Split Coast Stampers and all of the tutorials they have on that site.

Leave a Reply

