Day 298: Double Pocket Card

Today was one of those days. I had one idea for a project but couldn’t find one of the key elements and had to put that idea on hold. Then I decided to try something new and while my prototype didn’t work out, I was able to learn from it and create:

Double Pocket card

When I first tried it, I didn’t realize that having double sided printed paper was so key. Luckily, I was able to find some fun nautical paper in my stash that worked. Of course, that meant re-working my idea for what was going to do on the front and in the pockets. I decided to go with my seahorse stamp for on the tag and a sentiment for the front that reads, “no horsing around…I hope your birthday is a splash!” In the middle pocket, I placed a gift card.

For this project, I used a bunch of different tools and techniques. The card itself is created from a single sheet of 8 1/2×11 double-sided card stock that is scored, cut and folded. For the tag, I broke out the trusty old Sizzix machine and my tag die. It was pointed at the top but I cut the point off since it wouldn’t work as well with my ribbon embellishments. I stamped the seahorse and then colored him using colored pencils. I then used chalk to add a light blue background to the tag and give it a watery feel. For the sentiment, I cut the circle using my Cricut and then simply stamped the sentiment using Lettuce colored ink.

All in all, it was a bit more involved than I originally intended for today’s project but it worked out well in the end.

One Response

  1. Very pretty and creative.

Leave a Reply

