Day 297: Cap’n Jack’s Pumpkin

The other weekend, I went to a scrapbook crop with several ladies. My dear friend Laura was there, but she decided not to work on her scrapbook. Instead, she was working on Halloween decorations, and specifically she was decoupaging paper maché pumpkins. Well, I had bought one of the fake foam pumpkins a little while back and I have been trying to figure out how to decorate it. Her decision to decoupage inspired me. That and the skull and cross bones paper I found.

Decoupage Pirate Pumpkin

I started with a black foam pumpkin. I then used Mod Podge to decoupage the skull and cross bones paper to the pumpkin. You can’t tell from the picture, but there is a matching skull and cross bones on the back as well. Once the Mod Podge had dried, I applied a high gloss spray sealant to the entire exterior of the pumpkin. The high gloss finish made getting a picture a bit challenging, but I finally found a spot where the glare wasn’t too bad.

My original idea for this black pumpkin was to find some sort of pirate stencil and paint the design on in white. So, I didn’t stray too far from my original idea and probably wound up with a better result than if I had gone with the hand-painted design.

My son might even allow me to include this one with his Halloween decorating of the front yard.

2 Responses

  1. This is really cool looking. Love it!

    • Helen, this project was amazingly quick and much easier than you would think. If I get by the store this weekend, maybe I will see if I can get what I need to make one for you to put on your porch.

Leave a Reply

