Day 277: It’s About Time

Before I get to today’s project, I want to take a moment to welcome my great niece, Rylin, into the world. She arrived last evening, only a few days past her due date.

That being said, I was kind of torn as I went to work on today’s project. Part of me wanted to create girlie-girl project welcoming her to the world. The other part of me wanted to finally do a project that I have been wanting to do for a while. The planned project won (but that doesn’t mean that tomorrow’s project might not be all about the new baby).

Clock with Anchor Buttons

I had so much fun when I made my 5:00 Somehwere clock so I wanted to make another one. For this one, I took a much different approach. I used cross stitch fabric and a stitching hoop as my base. I sewed the anchor buttons on at the 12, 3, 6 and 9 positions using a slightly larger button for the 12:00. Then I wanted to reinforce the back so I did add a small wooden plaque that I then could use to attach the clock assembly.

Anchor Button Detail

So the placement of the buttons isn’t quite perfect, but that is part of the joy of homemade items, isn’t it? I’m still deciding which of the clocks I like better. They are so different that it is hard for me to decide. Do you have a favorite?

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

