Day 276: Oil Lamp Centerpiece

Whenever I go shopping, I am always looking for pieces that I can use for nautical projects. One item that I kept seeing and not buying for the longest time was a decorative ship’s lantern or oil lamp. I never quite could figure out what I could do with it. But, I finally bought it last weekend. Admittedly, the project that I had in mind when I bought it didn’t work out, but I think that you will agree that this project works:

Oil Lamp with Seashells Centerpiece

I created a very beachy centerpiece. I took the cover off and carefully layered river rocks, and different seashells in the glass lantern. Put the cover back on and place more shells and river rocks around the base and you have an easy, but pretty centerpiece. One of my favorite things about it is that it isn’t too feminine but it isn’t too masculine either. I think that gender neutrality makes it ideal for on the tables at a beach wedding reception or anniversary party. What do you think?

4 Responses

  1. This is awesome. What would make it even better would be if you could figure out how to incorporate a votive candle but one of the battery operated ones would also work.

    • I debated about whether or not to include a candle. To be honest, I loved the idea and may even rework this to make it happen.

      • Okay, the more I think about it, the more I think I need to go buy another oil lamp to make a centerpiece with a candle.

  2. […] couple of weeks ago, I made a centerpiece using an oil lamp, shells and river rocks. While I was happy with how that piece turned out, part of me wished that I had found a way to […]

Leave a Reply

