Day 275: Pretty as a Pirate

I’m not sure quite where the idea for today’s project came from…probably somewhere deep in my subconscious.

Pirate Hair Clip

It didn’t turn out perfectly, but I couldn’t find the hair clip that I originally thought of when I was developing this project in my head. I saw the pirate grad on my craft table yesterday when I was working on the fish bookmarks and thought it would be cute if I could figure out a way to attach it to a hair clip. I am guessing the bow on the brad got me thinking in that direction. I know that I have some metal hair clips in my bathroom, but when I was searching for them, I couldn’t put my hands on one of them, so I used a different hair clip. I opened the metal pieces on the back of the brad and tried to figure out the best way to adhere them to the clip. Unfortunately, the surface of the clip wasn’t the best for sticking things to, so I had to improvise. I saw some black ribbon and thought I could use that to cover up the brad backing and help it stay on the clip. Because of how the clip was attached, I couldn’t wrap the ribbon around it as smoothly as I would have liked, but I was able to create a less than perfect version of my vision.

One Response

  1. Cute! I can see you wearing this!

Leave a comment