Day 269: Why Buy It When You Can Make It

Last night, I was at the bookstore with my son. While he was tracking down the next book in the series he has been reading, I took a couple of minutes to check out the book marks that they had available. I have been toying with an idea for one, but I’m not quite sure how I am going to do it, so I was hoping to find some inspiration. I didn’t find anything that will help with the idea I have been playing with, but I definitely found some inspiration.

I saw this bookmark and had to buy it:

Ribbon Bookmark from Barnes and Noble

Obviously, I loved the nautical theme, but I also knew that I could make something similar at home. So this morning, I set out to make my own version:

Ribbon Bookmark with Sailboat and Anchor

I used charms that duplicated the feel of the original bookmark but that were a bit smaller (mainly since that was what I had in my stash).

Here you can wee both:

Side by Side Ribbon Bookmarks

So, now I have to ask the question: why buy it when you can make it yourself?

4 Responses

  1. Your version is just as pretty as the one in the book store. Good job!

    • Thanks, Helen. For this one, I stuck pretty close to the original, but I am tossing around a few ideas for other interpretations of the same concept.

  2. […] specific bookmark were a sailboat and an anchor so obviously it caught my eye. The next day, I made my first interpretation of the style of bookmark. I followed the theme very closely and even used a sailboat and an anchor to really mimic the […]

  3. […] What if I decorated the bottle caps and used them to make a ribbon bookmark? […]

Leave a Reply

