Day 251: More Inspiration from the Scrap and Stamp Expo

As I said yesterday, Laura and I came home with lots of supplies and tons of inspiration. Today’s project showcases some of the fabulous ideas from yesterday’s adventure.

Seahorse Birthday Card

One of the things about a card that Laura and I saw that we both loved was the unconventional way it was cut. I also loved the mix of printed papers. I tried to mimic that with this card. Rather than having a full front to the card, only a smaller portion is actually on the front. The ribbon is there to help people easily figure out how to open the card.

Seahorse Birthday Card - Open

It still has a place for writing a personal message. I really love the different design of the card, so I may use it again with some different stamps to create a completely different feel.

Now, the little seahorse and sentiment came from a set of stamps that I got yesterday at the show. I don’t know how well you can really see it in the picture, but the seahorse’s head is actually dimensional and is created with a small “flat back tin pin” embellishment from Darcie Heater Designs and was clearly designed to work with the stamps. The stamp set includes the seahorse, a crab, an octopus and a sea turtle and I have embellishments to go with each of the sea critters. (If you read between the lines, that means to expect to see more of these guys over the next few months.)

I think this makes for a whimsical and nautical birthday card. What do you think?

One Response

  1. […] that came with the sentiment stamp. If you follow me, you may recognize the card layout from the seahorse card that I did a couple of weeks ago. The stamps were from the same set, so it seemed to make sense to […]

Leave a Reply

