Day 245: Beach House Decor

A while ago, I saw a fall craft on Pinterest and I have been thinking about creating something similar, but inspired by the sea of course. Today, I set out to create my own interpretation:

Seaside Door Banner

The first issue I encountered was trying to pick a word that would work. I finally decided to go with “seaside” as my word. Of course, that resulted in a rather long door banner. So, to help you see what I did, I shot a more close up image that focused on just a few of the letters:

Seaside door banner close-up

I started out with chipboard squares that had rounded corners. I covered them with blue paper that had an ocean feel to it. I then punched the letters from a sand colored paper and adhered them to the prepared squares. I embellished each with a seashell themed button from my stash – sand dollars, seashells and star fish. I used twine to tie them all together and another piece of twine that can be used for hanging the entire thing on a door or wall.

Seaside Door Banner, single letter

It is simple but I think it could look really cute in a beach house or condo. I could see hanging it in a narrow space between windows or on the exposed end of a wall.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

