Day 243: Something Fishy in the Kitchen

Maybe the commercials for Master Chef Junior influenced today’s craft idea.

Child's Apron

Today’s project was a multi-step process. First, I created a stencil for a fish using a transparency and my Cricut machine. I wasn’t 100% sure the transparency would cut properly, but it did. I then used Inkodye to color in the fish. For those not familiar with Inkodye, it is a sun activated fabric dye. I taped my stencil to the apron and then applied the Inkodye. I then put the apron outside for about 20 minutes for the dye to darken. I then used dimensional fabric paints to add a fin and and an eye to the fish and to add the words to the apron. The fabric paints need about 4 hours to dry completely. Mine have been drying for about an hour, but I figured I could go ahead and take the photo. Now, I just need to find a junior chef who could actually wear this apron.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

