Day 240: More Fun with Bottle Caps

When I went to the craft store the other day, I bought these key chains with a plastic piece that you are supposed to be able to easily take apart so you can insert a photo or whatever inside. Well, I tried to get them open, but couldn’t seem to figure out the secret. Maybe my husband or son can figure it out for me later. But, I had the idea for a key chain stuck in my head, so I had to look for plan B.

Bottle cap key chain with fish brad

As I looked through the mess that is my craft table, I saw some leftover fish brads from when I decorated a spiral notebook a few months back. Right next to them, were the leftover bottle caps that I was playing with last week. I thought that I could drill a hole in one of the bottle caps for the brad and make a simple little key chain.

Of course, I had to add a background so I punched a circle from some dark blue textured paper that I had in my stash and put that onto the bottle cap. Then I set to work drilling a hole in the center of the bottle cap and added the fish brad. I then grabbed a couple of jump rings and a key chain ring and attached them to the top of the design, using one of the pre-drilled holes in the bottle cap.

Simple, cute and fun. Now, if I could just remember where I put my keys. 😉

One Response

  1. Cute and practical. Big enough that it won’t get lost in the bottom of your large purse. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

