Day 216: How I Spent My Summer Vacation

Well, we are getting back to reality, and I have decided that reality sucks. But, it must happen.

For today’s craft, I celebrated how I spent last week though:

Sand and Surf Signs

We spent at least part of each day out on the beach. I spent much of the time relaxing on the beach and reading, while the guys hit the surf and played in the waves. I did get out there and play in the surf too.

For these signs, I purchased wooden letters that are about 2 1/2 inches tall to spell out sand and surf. I also bought wooden pieces that were about 3×9.5 inches. I painted the letters and the wooden bases using Americana acrylic paints in bleached sand and Calypso blue…to mimic the colors of sand and surf. I let the paint dry for a little bit before using our hot glue gun to adhere the letters to the contrasting pieces of wood. For the photo, I took the signs onto our back deck and used small easels to prop them up. Not sure what I might do with the signs yet but I am sure that I will come up with something.

One Response

  1. Cool! Can’t blame you.

Leave a Reply

