Day 206: Sharpie Dot Art

First let me say that I was never one of those kids who excelled in art class back in the day. That is to say, I am not the kind of person who can just be given a blank canvas and create a masterpiece. So, what did I do today? I grabbed some Sharpie markers and a 4×4 canvas and created this:

IMG_1549

Originally, I was playing with the idea of doing some Sharpie tie dye on a onesie, but I wasn’t happy with how my experiments were turning out. But, as I was experimenting with creating patterns for the tie dye, I drew a dotted fish that I was pretty happy with (at least before I added the alcohol to create the tie dye effect). I decided to take that idea and apply it to my blank canvas. I started with the orange outline and the orange stripes. Next, I added yellow in the non-orange areas and a blue dot for an eye, but I felt like it was incomplete somehow. I grabbed my light blue Sharpie and added dots to the background so my fish could be in water.

Remember, I started this post by stating that I basically flunked elementary school art. With that in mind, I am pretty thrilled with how this experimental art project turned out.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

