Day 198: Thinking of You Gate Fold Card

As I drifted off to sleep last night, I was thinking about what I wanted to do for today’s craft. When I got up this morning the idea that was lingering in my brain was for a gate fold card (something I have always thought about doing but always shied away from). While the vision I had and the end result turned out to be very different, I like how the card turned out.

Thinking of You Gate Fold Card

So aspects of the card that I fell asleep thinking about that made it into the finished product are the style of card, the sentiment and the shape of the image. The original concept was to use a small die cut palm tree and then to use real sand to simulate beach. The tree most likely would have been to the left and the sentiment to the right. Instead, when I went into the craft room, I saw this seagull stamp that I hadn’t used for a project yet and decided to use it. Instead of sand to mimic the beach, I used glitter glue to simulate water. The rest of the coloring (except for the bird’s beak) was done using chalk pencils.

I think overall the card is still masculine enough that I might use it to send a note of encouragement to my son who is down at boot camp.

One Response

  1. […] my son off at boot camp, I find myself making some more masculine cards. For today’s card, I used a quote that I have used in the past, but it really fits […]

Leave a Reply

