Day 155: Modified Poster Art

Today’s inspiration came from something I saw on Pinterest, of course. How did crafty people find ideas before Pinterest? Seriously, someone posted about taking a regular poster, cutting it into sections and adhering the pieces to canvas to “dress up” the poster. I knew that was something I could handle.

Beach Chair Poster on Canvases

I set out to find a poster that would work. I found this 12×36 poster of beach chairs and knew it would work perfectly, since I had already scoped out the canvases and saw that they had some measuring 12×12. I broke out my trusty paper cutter and set to work. I will admit that cutting up a poster felt really strange. I then used spray adhesive to adhere the sections of the poster to the canvases.

I particularly liked this poster because it wasn’t an over-sized photograph. It actually has the look of painted artwork. I also can imagine myself sitting in one of those chairs with a cold drink looking out over the water.

For the photo, I thought about putting them onto the wall, but would have had to rearrange a bunch of our already existing artwork, so I decided to take them out onto my back deck and to shoot the picture with them lined up on our weathered bench with our woods in the background. The photo makes me smile since it captures two of my favorite places in the world – a beach and my own home and woods.

3 Responses

  1. This project is different for you. Really good and creative.

  2. Lovely!

  3. […] friend Jeri who is a consultant for Stampin’ Up, and I had a 12 by 12 canvas leftover from my modified poster art project, so I decided to use those supplies to make a Warhol-esque piece of wall art. It isn’t […]

Leave a Reply

