Day 150: A No-Brainer for Marylanders

I was at the store with my youngest son the other day when he saw something and asked me what it was and why they had it at the grocery store. Today’s project aimed to clarify things.

Crab Mallet

For most Marylanders it is a no-brainer as to why they have small wooden hammers at the grocery store. They are crab mallets. In my son’s defense, he is allergic to shellfish and can’t eat the dish that Maryland is known for.

I decided to buy one of the crab mallets and make it perfectly clear what it was for. I stamped a crab onto the mallet and then colored it in using Sharpie markers. Stamping on a rounded surface was a bit tricky and I didn’t do it quite perfectly. My crab appears to have eyebrows (not that they show in my photo above). It was a fun, quick project though and I think it would be fun to decorate a bunch of them and have them available if we ever hosted a crab feast.

One Response

  1. You may be on to something here
    Very clever.

Leave a Reply

