Day 124: Not the Project I Had Planned

I seem to be having a rough day. I made a project – a mobile with a sailboat, a sun and a couple of clouds. The problems started when it came time to take pictures. I tried to take it outside for the pictures but it was too windy. I asked my boys for help, but they were too busy (you can read between the lines). We’ll just say that project wound up in the trash when it got broken.

In a way, it may have been a blessing in disguise because it forced me to do a different project – something I have wanted to do for a while but have continually put off since it took me out of my comfort zone.

Wire-wrapped sea glass pendant

I have long wanted to play around with wire-wrapping a piece of sea glass (or something) to create a pendant, but have been really hesitant to do so. I know that my wire skills are not the strongest but they won’t get better unless I push myself. So, after the debacle with the first project, I sat down and forced myself to try my hand with wire and sea glass. It is far from perfect, but I don’t think it is too bad for a first attempt. The piece of sea glass is about 1 inch tall by 1/2 inch wide. I don’t think I have any gold chain that I could hang this from. Might have to get some.

2 Responses

  1. Looks really nice. You have a talent for jewelry.

  2. Those days are just there to test your creativity. You’ve produced something incredible with that little bit of determination from a previous ‘fail’ there are so many boat carcasses around my house and in my sketchbook, but I think inspiration comes from mistakes as much as anything else. Now you have something beautiful to wear 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

