Day 107: Puzzle Piece Earrings

Here in the United States, April is Autism Awareness month. Autism affects so many children, including one of mine. One of the symbols used to raise awareness and recognition of autism is a puzzle piece, so I wanted to do something that used a puzzle piece at some point this month.

Last night, one of the ladies in my bowling league asked me if I could fix a pair of earrings that she got that feature puzzle pieces and I found my inspiration.

Puzzle Piece Earrings

I found some cute paper with fish and other nautical themes and used my Creative Memories puzzle piece punch to cut the paper and pieces of cardboard. I used the back of the paper which is a scallop print (similar to the top of the earrings with the little green fish) for the back of the earrings. I ran all of the punched papers through the Xyron and adhered them to the cardboard pieces. I then used Glossy Accents to protect the paper and give them a little shine.  I didn’t factor in drying time for the Glossy Accents which is why I am so late posting this today. Luckily, I was able to coat both sides before I left for work and to allow them to dry all day. I punched holes and added jump rings and French hooks to turn them into earrings. They didn’t turn out quite perfect, but this was a whole new way of making jewelry for me.

One Response

  1. they are cute!

Leave a Reply

