Day 97: Rainbow Fish Mobile

I don’t know where the inspiration for today’s project came from and I am questioning my sanity a bit, but it is done and I do like the end result.

Rainbow Fish Mobile

For today, I wanted to make a mobile featuring fish in all the colors of the rainbow. It is kind of hard to tell in the photo, but each of the 5 strings has fish in each of the 7 colors of the rainbow. Thank you to my son for holding my mobile while I took the photo.

The reason that I am questioning my sanity is because for each fish, I actually had to cut out 2 fish – 1 in black and 1 in the color. All I can say is thank goodness for my Cricut. All in all, I cut out 70 fish, ran half of them through by Xyron. Not difficult, but time consuming none the less. I then used black embroidery floss that I separated into the individual strands and carefully placed it between the 2 pieces of each fish as I adhered them together. Finally, I used an embroidery hoop as the ring for the mobile and ran the 5 pieces of floss between the pieces of the hoop and closed it tightly.

I am very happy with the result and even happier that I decided that this was a weekend project rather than a week day one as there is no way I would have had enough time (or patience) to get through all of this and still make it to work on time.

4 Responses

  1. This is super. Love it.

  2. Worth the effort! I like seeing your stretch the limits.

  3. Now that is really cool.

  4. […] composition book back on day 73, and the fish is the same one that I used in abundance for the rainbow fish mobile back on day 97. I think that it is fun to use the same elements in different ways to see how many […]

Leave a Reply

