Day 79: Call Me, Ishmael

When you think of iconic lines from literature, especially in literature inspired by the sea, one certainly stood out to me. I don’t mean the line from Jaws. To be honest, I don’t know if that line was even in Peter Benchley’s book that inspired the movie. I am referring to the opening line of Moby Dick…”Call me, Ishmael.”

As I have been cruising Pinterest looking for craft ideas, I have seen some examples where people have punched out hearts from the pages of a favorite book or drawn on them. I can’t draw very well, but I decided to do my own version of drawing on a page from a book and what better book to use than Moby Dick.

Book Art-Moby Dick

Now, I wish I could take credit for the drawing at the top of the page, but that was already there. For the whale at the bottom of the page, I created a stencil using my Cricut and then traced that. I then added grey chalk to make the design standout just a bit more.

Admittedly, I am not thrilled with the project. I’m not sure if it is because the whale is too friendly looking or the framing is just too tight. That being said, here is today’s craft. I am open to your feedback.

 

2 Responses

  1. I think it is inventive.

  2. It is a good idea.

Leave a Reply

