Day 37: Pirate Checkers

Over the last few months, I have seen bottle caps used in crafts quite a bit. I wasn’t quite sure how I would use them, but I decided to get some this past weekend. As soon as I had some in my hand, inspiration hit. Make them into checkers:

Bottle Cap Checkers

I still had the pirate paper left over from the bookmark, so I decided to punch out small circles focusing on getting the skull and swords in each one. I then mounted the smaller circles on red paper circles to make them the right size to fit the top of the bottle caps. Figuring out what to use for the opposing person’s checkers had me a bit stumped until I found the shiny gold paper in my stash – doubloons. For them, I punched circles to fit the bottle caps and then punched textured rings for around the outside of the “coins”.

Here is a more detailed photo of the checkers themselves:

Checker Detail

I still had one more obstacle to overcome. What family doesn’t own a checkerboard? Apparently, mine! So, I did what any good crafter would do and made my own using a 12×12 piece of cardboard as a base. I cut 1 1/2 squares in black and white and set to work. Luckily, I realized the checkerboard issue over the weekend, so I worked on that during all of the Super Bowl pre-game hype and could focus on the checkers today.

So, who wants to play?

4 Responses

  1. Cool!

  2. Like!

  3. […] added them to trim out the chest. It isn’t perfect, but it is the perfect place to store the pirate checkers that I made a few days […]

  4. Very cool, creative and endless fun for the future!

Leave a Reply

