Day 31: Tropical Bath Salts

I am super excited to have completed the first month of this year long challenge, and tomorrow I get to see the woman who helped inspire me on my journey when she comes back to her old office to share about her experience. She just completed her year, and you can check out her fabulous projects at http://365creativedresses.blogspot.com/.

That being said, I am also terribly exhausted. I have been fighting insomnia all week, and it is taking its toll on me. The exhaustion played a roll in determining what today’s project was going to be.

Tropical Bath Salts

I actually found the recipe for these bath salts on Pinterest a while ago and knew that I wanted to make them. I am thinking that a warm bath with these might help me get some restful sleep. And, if it doesn’t work, it still gave me a fun project for the day.

To make them, I combined 1 1/2 cups of Epsom salts with 1/2 cup of sea salt. I then mixed in a couple of tablespoons of coconut oil to complete the tropical feel. After mixing it all together, I transferred it to this canister that I decorated with a couple of sea horses cut using my Cricut.

I do realize that the connection to the sea is a bit tenuous on this one, but it does use Sea salt and coconut, so I felt like it was a strong enough connection. What do you think?

6 Responses

  1. Close enough for me. Maybe you drink too much caffeine after 5:00 and that is contributing to the imsomnia

  2. I don’t think the connection is tenuous at all! Thanks for the nice words about my project. I’m looking forward to seeing you tomorrow, too! Have you tried one of the many sleep recordings available? I personally like Kelly Howell.

  3. By the way, I like the bath salts! I can practically smell the ocean…

  4. I don’t have problems falling asleep most nights. The problem is with staying asleep. Most mornings I wake up between 3 and 4 and cannot get back to sleep. I was awake at 4 again this morning but was able to get a bit more sleep. Of course, I was up at 1 in the morning due to the storm. Trying melatonin for a new nights to see if it helps.

  5. In case anyone is interested, here is the link to where the inspiration for this project came from: http://www.jacolynmurphy.com/2012/08/mermaid-party-craft.html.

  6. I recognize what you say about the insomnia, but lately I can´t fall asleep before 04.00-05.00 in the morning, so I think of all the creative things to do and work them out or get great new ideas..
    I like the bath salt and I think it could work well to fall asleep… I hope you will sleep a good long sleep soon…

Leave a Reply

