Day 14: Customized Bowl

Well, I didn’t work on my project this morning because I knew that it would take a bit more time and I thought I would have more time this evening. Boy, was I wrong!When my son got home from school, he called and asked if we could please go shopping for new jeans and shoes since he is in the midst of a pretty significant growth spurt. So, I got home from work and after a quick dinner, we headed to the mall. After 2 hours, we finally made it home and I got a little bit of time to work on my project.

Bowl with Sailboat

To create this one, I started with a bowl that I found at Target. I loved the shape and the red trim. I stamped the image using Staz-On ink and a regular rubber stamp from my collection. I then added colored accents using a Sharpie Marker. I have read that you can do this and that if you bake the dish in a 350 degree oven for half an hour that it makes the Sharpie permanent on the dish and that the dishes can even be used and washed by hand. I am still not quite sure if the same applies for the Staz-On ink so I probably won’t be using this bowl for cereal any time soon.

It was actually kind of difficult stamping on the bowl because the surface was rather slick and the stamp slipped very easily. In fact, I had to quickly clean the bowl after a first attempt at stamping failed. While I don’t love the results, I am not really unhappy with them either. This experience is about trying new things and this definitely was an adventure into a new medium for me.

2 Responses

  1. Trying new things is definitely the right idea. I like that you are going out of your comfort zone. Just think of all the learning opportunities you have ahead! I think your bowl is cute, although it looks a little dark. Could be just the photo?

  2. Jeannie,

    I think it is a little bit of both. The image was a bit darker than I really wanted it to be and then the photo just makes it appear even darker than it really is.

    MIchelle

Leave a Reply

