Day 7: Nautical Light Switch Cover

Today’s craft was based on an idea that I had yesterday. I wanted to decorate a light switch cover, but wasn’t quite sure how I wanted to do it. After considering several options, I decided to go with a collage.

Light Switch Cover

I had purchased a pack of K&Company nautical papers when I was preparing for my 365 Days of Creativity, figuring it would come in handy. The first sheet in the pack had several small images that looked kind of like postage stamps, so I thought that a collage using those images might work well.

I used Mod Podge to cover the piece in a neutral paper since I knew sections of the background would show through. I then selected several of the small images and adhered them using Mod Podge. The final step was to go back and cut the holes for the switch and the screws. I probably should have allowed the Mod Podge more time to dry completely which would have enabled me to get cleaner cuts. For my first time doing something like this, I am pretty happy with the result.

2 Responses

  1. I like it. Ummm. I think that by the end of the year, you’ll have your beach house completely furnished. Is that the plan?

    • It is a good plan, don’t you think? Actually, if you saw our house now, you would realize that furnishing our retirement home at the beach will not be a problem. Lots of lighthouse and other beachy motifs.

Leave a Reply

