Day 6: Inspirational Serving Tray

Okay, in the interest of full disclosure. I did start today’s project yesterday. After the issues I had with yesterday’s intended project, and the fact that I knew that today’s project would require drying time, I felt it best to allow myself that little bit of extra time. However, I can honestly say that I didn’t complete the project until this morning.

After my frustrations of yesterday, this quote seems all the more appropriate. In my searching, I have seen it attributed to a few different people, but the first time that I saw it, it was attributed to Dolly Parton.

Serving TrayThis project involved a few more steps than most anything else I have done to date. First, I painted the inside of a wooden serving tray white. I allowed that to dry and then I painted the outside blue. I allowed that to dry. Next, I used letter stickers to spell out this quote about taking control of our own lives. I then painted over the letter stickers with red and allowed that to dry. Finally, I removed the letter stickers revealing the white underneath. After a little bit of touch up, (there were a couple of spots where I must not of adhered the stickers completely so paint was able to seep underneath), this is the final result. I might go back and shellac it just to protect it, but I don’t have anything on hand for that right now. Admittedly, the painting could be a bit neater, but overall, I like the final outcome and would love to hear what you think of it.

 

2 Responses

  1. I like it—the quote has always been a favorite of mine.

    • Thanks. I just came across the quote recently, but it applies to so many aspects of my life right now that I knew I had to do something with it.

Leave a Reply

